Wednesday, December 19, 2012

Arizona's Schweikert will serve on House Science Committee

Incoming U.S. House Science Committee chairman Rep. Lamar Smith (R-TX) announced the Republican members who will serve next session on the House Science, Space, and Technology Committee includes Rep. David Schweikert from Fountain Hills, Arizona.  For the Democratic Members, Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX) will again serve as Ranking Member of the committee, and the rest of the Democratic roster is expected to be named in January.

The Committee on Science, Space, and Technology has jurisdiction over all energy research, development, and demonstration, and projects therefor, and all federally owned or operated non-military energy laboratories; astronautical research and development, including resources, personnel, equipment, and facilities; civil aviation research and development; environmental research and development; marine research; commercial application of energy technology; National Institute of Standards and Technology, standardization of weights and measures and the metric system; National Aeronautics and Space Administration; National Science Foundation; National Weather Service; outer space, including exploration and control thereof; science scholarships; scientific research, development, and demonstration, and projects therefor. The Committee on Science, Space, and Technology shall review and study on a continuing basis laws, programs, and Government activities relating to non-military research and development.

[excerpted from the AAAS Policy Alert]

No comments:

Post a Comment