Sunday, June 30, 2013

GSA Kirk Bryan Award to AZGS's Phil Pearthree

AZGS Section Chief Dr. Phil Pearthree and his co-authors will receive the 2013 Kirk Bryan Award from the Geological Society of America’s Quaternary Geology and Geomorphology Division this fall at the GSA Annual meeting.  The Kirk Bryan Award is bestowed upon the author or authors of a published paper of distinction advancing the science of geomorphology or some related field, such as  Quaternary geology.

The winning paper is:
House, P. K., Pearthree, P. A., and Perkins, M. E., 2008, Stratigraphic evidence for the role of lake-spillover in the inception of the lower Colorado River in southern Nevada and western Arizona, in Reheis, M.C., Hershler, R., and Miller, D.M., eds., Late Cenozoic Drainage History of the Southwestern Great Basin and Lower Colorado River Region: Geologic and Biotic Perspectives: Geological Society of America Special Paper 439, p. 335-354, doi: 10.1130/2008.2439(15).

1 comment:

  1. Anonymous9:31 PM

    Also of note is that the senior author of the report is a past AZGS geologist.