Thursday, July 02, 2009

New Earth fissure maps in Maricopa & Pinal counties

AZGS today released four new Earth Fissure Study Area Maps: Harquahala, Maricopa County,
and Friendly Corners, Tator Hills, and Signal Peak Study Areas of Pinal County.

The 1:24,000-scale maps can be downloaded as pdf versions free at the Arizona Geological Survey’s Earth Fissure Center (

For interactive viewing and custom map-making at up to 1:12,000 scale, visit the Arizona Department of Real Estate’s Earth Fissure Viewer at

The Harquahala map marks the completion of earth fissure mapping in Maricopa County. The chief fissure here is the Rodgers Fissure, which is about one mile in length. Earlier released earth fissure maps for Maricopa County, include: Chandler Heights, Luke, Mesa, Scottsdale, Wintersburg and Apache Junction, the latter co-resides in Pinal County.

[taken in part from the AZGS announcement]

No comments:

Post a Comment