Friday, February 19, 2010

Governor calls for disaster declaration in wake of flooding

Governor Jan Brewer is "requesting a federal Major Disaster Declaration for nine Arizona counties and six tribal nations as a result of severe winter storm activity in January."

The request to President Obama includes Apache, Coconino, Gila, Greenlee, La Paz, Mohave, Navajo, Pinal and Yavapai counties and the tribal nations of Gila River Indian Community, Hopi Tribe, Navajo Nation, Tohono O'odham Nation, San Carlos Apache Tribe and the White Mountain Apache Tribe.  [right, Wenden AZ flood damage from January 22.   Credit,]

No comments:

Post a Comment