Tuesday, March 15, 2011

Earth fissure map released for Three Sisters Buttes

AZGS released four new earth fissure area maps today - one in Cochise County and three in Pinal County.

The Three Sisters Butte area in Cochise County [right] covers nearly 19 miles of continuous and discontinuous earth fissures. The fissures are largely bunched in two locales: one group circumnavigating the Three Sisters Buttes, and the second north of Sulphur Hills. In summer 2010, three new earth fissures formed north of Sulphur Hills intersecting and temporarily closing E. Parker Ranch Road.

No comments:

Post a Comment